Dale Arnink Award

The Dale Arnink Preaching Award goes annually to the preacher of a sermon that explores and promotes understanding and application of Humanist teachings in Unitarian Universalism. All Unitarian Universalist professional religious leaders, as well as those studying for professional leadership, are eligible to be considered for this award. Sermons are judged through a blind process by a panel of UU religious and lay leaders. The award will be presented at the MDD board meeting at the General Assembly in Spokane, Washington on June 19, 2019, if the recipient is present.

As Unitarian Universalists, the sources of our living tradition include Humanist teachings, which counsel us to heed the guidance of reason and the results of science and warn us against idolatries of the mind and spirit. Have you preached or heard a good sermon reflecting Humanist teachings lately?

Apply now for the 2020 Dale Arnink award!

2019 Dale Arnink Preaching Award Recipient: Rev. Dr. Barry M. Andrews

See winners from previous years.

Walk the Talk Award

The MDD “Walk the Talk” Award is given to a Unitarian Universalist lay person for living a life which best exemplifies Unitarian Universalist principles. The winner will recognized on the MDD website and be given partial free registration (for Wednesday, Thursday and Friday only) at the UUA’s General Assembly in Spokane, WA on June 19-23, 2019, if they are able to attend.

Complete and return the Nomination Form for the Walk the Talk Award by 5:00 p.m. February 28, 2020.

2018 Walk the Talk Award Recipient – Heide Cottam

2017 Walk the Talk Award Recipient – Joyce W. Nickols